Home > Movie List > WORST MOVIES OF 2012 – Top 10 List

WORST MOVIES OF 2012 – Top 10 List

Taken2Cropped

It’s that time of year again when we take a look back at the movies that made us angry, disappointed, and sorry we wasted our time and money.  Keep in mind I (gratefully) didn’t see every film this year, so if your worst movie of the year isn’t on my list, there’s a good chance I skipped it.  I know my list differs from popular opinion in many cases, so just know this is my opinion, my list.  Anyway, without further ado, here’s the infamous countdown:

 

1. Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance

For me to choose a definitive “worst film of the year,” a movie has to fail on all accounts.  Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance does it like no other movie could.  Nobody was on the same page with this movie.  The acting, writing, and directing were tonally all over the place, sometimes being unintentionally funny while other times playing it completely straight.  The action scenes felt unfinished, the story is nonexistent, and it’s a migraine to sit through.  I gave up in the first 10 minutes.

 

2. Taken 2

This was a very close runner-up.  Much like Ghost Rider, nothing in this movie works.  Liam Neeson gives an effortless lead performance, leading a cast of poor quality.  The script is absurd and doesn’t make any sense, while the dialogue made me cringe.  The action is also some I’ve seen in recent memory, as they sport shaky camerawork, atrocious editing, and no choreography.

 

3. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days

I couldn’t believe the amount of hate comments on my review for this film.  To those who enjoy it, good for you.  For me, it was one of the most excruciating kids comedies I’ve seen in recent memory.  None of the jokes hit and it’s painfully predictable.

 

4. Savages

On my list, this may be the one that angered me the most.  Unlikeable, unredeemable characters at the center of a plot that’s dull, slow, and free of any stakes make Oliver Stone’s Savages a chore to watch.  Blake Lively and Taylor Kitsch give two of the year’s worst performances and the ending is one of the biggest slaps to the face I’ve ever seen.

 

5. The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2

The first 90 minutes or so are typical Twilight garbage.  It has irrelevant, bland scenes and characters with no emotional substance.  However, the climactic action sequence was decent on the terms of the series.  That was until a certain twist is revealed, completely undercutting everything that just happened.  This ending insulted my intelligence and made me hate this series and film more than I already did.

 

6. The Devil Inside

I know exorcism movies are supposed to be dirty and gritty, but it doesn’t mean I have to like watching it.  Out of all the movies on this list, this one was the most unfun to watch.  On top of that, there are barely any scary moments, and when they’re there, they’re as forced, clichéd, and flat as ever.  The acting is atrocious, the pacing is awful, and the ending is the very definition of a cop-out.  Can we please put an end to found footage horror movies?

 

7. John Carter

A lot of people have hailed and defended John Carter as a sci-fi classic in the making, however I don’t understand what people see in this film.  It’s an overlong, boring CGI-fest we’ve seen several times before.  The plot is horrendously convoluted, the acting is stiff, and there’s no fun to be had.

 

8. Project X

One of the most cynical, offensive comedies I’ve seen in years.  Those who enjoy it may say it’s an over-the-top party movie with no emotional substance, and I would agree.   However, even in the most over-the-top comedic moments, I need something to care about.  There needs to be characters, an emotional center, and a sense of reliability.  Project X has none of this.  It’s obnoxious, self-indulgent, and unfunny.

 

9. Total Recall

Why remake a movie when you’re just going to make it clichéd?  It’s predictable, bland, and dull, filled with characters that mean nothing.  The final 30 minutes have one CGI action sequence after the next, and I just wanted to leave.

 

10. The Watch

A confused, poor script is wasted on a talented cast.  Some jokes are geared towards adults while others are just plain juvenile; none of them hit.  The characters and story are also forgettable and bland, and it’s just a big waste of time.

 

DISHONORABLE MENTIONS:

Battleship

Dark Shadows

The Dictator

Dredd

The Expendables 2

Ice Age: Continental Drift

Man on a Ledge

Rock of Ages

 

Categories: Movie List
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

